Tuesday, June 8, 2021

Black Music Month Spotlight: The Rude Boys

Cleveland, Ohio-based R&B group The Rude Boys originally consisted of Melvin Sephus, Larry Marcus and brothers Edward Lee Banks & Joe Little.

Discovered by the late Gerald Levert, the quartet ultimately signed a deal with Atlantic Records and released their debut album Rude Awakening in 1990.

Rude Awakening featured four singles "Come On Let's Do This", "Heaven", "Are You Lonely for Me?" & "Written All Over Your Face", the latter two topped the Billboard R&B Singles chart.

A sophomore album Rude House was issued in 1992 and includes the singles "My Kinda Girl", "Go Ahead and Cry".

In 1997, The Rude Boys released a third and final album Rude As Ever which featured the single "Nothing No One".

Member Larry Marcus passed away in 2016.

No comments:

Post a Comment